Training & Career Progression

When you start a career in Social Care you do not need previous experience.

You do need empathy and a caring nature and you’ll receive all the training required to provide high levels of support.


As part of the induction process you will need to undertake the Care Certificate.  This is a set of standards that social care and health workers require in their daily working life.

The Care Certificate gives everyone the confidence that workers have the same skills, knowledge and behaviours to provide compassionate, safe and high quality care and support. The Care Certificate is the start of your career journey in social care and is only one element of the training and education available to work in the sector.

Based on 15 standards the Care Certificate includes:

  • Understanding your role
  • Your personal development
  • Duty of Care
  • Equality and Diversity
  • Work in a person centred way
  • Communication
  • Privacy and dignity
  • Fluids and nutrition
  • Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities
  • Safeguarding adults
  • Safeguarding children
  • Basic life support
  • Health and Safety
  • Handling information
  • Infection prevention and control

You will be given a Care Certificate workbook to support your training process and to guide you through the training. The induction takes 12 weeks, it is knowledge and observation based, giving you the confidence and experience you need to do a great job.



Social care is a sector that offers exceptional training opportunities. Once you have completed the Care Certificate the next step is to achieve Awards, Certificates and Diplomas at levels 2, 3, 4 and 5.

You can take a generic pathway or you can specialise in dementia or learning disabilities.

A great way to carry on with your training opportunities as a member of the health and social care workforce in Norfolk or Suffolk is to engage with Developing Skills in Health and Social Care, which offers fully funded accredited learning and mentoring support, and is part funded by the European Social Fund. Developing Skills aims to empower people working in the sector to develop new skills and continue to provide high quality care to local people. Learning topics include dementia awareness, autism awareness, learning disabilities, end of life and mental health. There’s also functional skills courses in Maths, English and IT  and a Level 4 Aspiring Managers programme. There’s a dedicated team of Career Progression Mentors who support participants during their learning journey, and can offer information on how to develop skills in their current role and consider the next career steps


Snapshot of training options

Level 1 – pre entry qualification for those not yet working in social care, but interested in starting a career in the sector.

Level 2 and 3 – Diploma in Health and Social Care with options to take a generic pathway or a specialist dementia or learning disability pathway.

Level 4 – Diploma in Health and Social Care enables experienced staff to develop their skills and specialisms.

Level 5 Diploma in Leadership for Health and Social Care (Adults) has three pathways: Adults Residential Management; Adults Management; Adults Advanced Practice.

Working in social care offers real scope and progression within you career. Whether you’re starting out or experienced, join a sector that makes a real difference to the lives of others.