< Back to Listings

Temporary Personal Care Assistant DPSS291/NorCare

Narborough

£9.01

Direct Payment Support Service

Closing Date: 29/07/20

My name is Margaret and I am a 64-year-old lady living in Narborough, Norfolk. 21 years ago, I had a massive stroke which has left me very disabled and with poor speech. I have a team of ladies who help me with all aspects of daily life, including running the house; showering, dressing and toileting; eating and drinking.

I am looking for a new Personal Care Assistant to join this team.

Below are the regular shifts which have just become available. However, my team also provide cover for one another’s holidays and sick leave so there will always be holiday cover shifts available to pick up too. These could be morning, afternoon or night shifts, throughout the week.

Regular shifts which are currently available are:
Afternoon shifts: (3.30pm – 6.30pm) every Monday and the same time on Tuesday
Morning shift: (830am – 1230pm) alternate Fridays and (830am-1030am) every Saturday
Possible afternoon shifts (3.30pm – 6.30pm) on a Saturday and Sunday
Night shifts: (10pm – 7am) alternate Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays
Holiday cover also always required.

Rates of Pay:
£9.01 per hour (daytime shifts), £78.48 per overnight sleeping shift (9 hours at £8.72 per hour).
(Night shifts involve giving me a drink and getting me ready for bed and then you are able to sleep in your own room, being available for emergencies overnight.)
If you are interested in joining my team, please get in touch for an application form or feel free to email to arrange an informal meeting.
Further information:
I am a 64 year old mother and grandmother living in Narborough and I was left completely paralysed and have poor speech following a massive stroke in 1999. I need help with all activities of daily life. Everything you do for yourself, you would need to do for me. Effectively you will be my arms and legs!
I drive an electric wheelchair and have environmental controls to enable me to be as independent as possible (in my home). I use a stand-aid to transfer between bed, chair, toilet etc.
Applicants should be reliable and friendly. Experience in catheter care and the use of a stand-aid is a definite advantage but not essential as training will be provided. Having a clean driving licence would be helpful (so that you can drive my wheelchair adapted car).
Being a good team-member is essential; flexibility and co-operation with your colleagues over covering holidays and sickness is part of the job.
Duties include:
Night shifts:
Making and giving me a bedtime drink, undressing and preparing me for bed, toileting and personal care, transferring me into bed with use of Stand-aid and putting me comfortable for the night.
The majority of the time you will have a night of unbroken sleep in a separate room, but you remain ‘on call’ in case of emergency.
Morning shifts:
Making and giving me morning drinks, getting me showered or washed, and dressed, toileting as necessary, transferring me into my wheelchair with use of stand-aid. Preparing and giving me breakfast and medication.
Afternoon shifts:
Preparing and giving me drinks and my main meal. Preparation of a drink to be left for me to have later.
This is a temporary role with a yet to be determined finish date.

If you would like to apply for this position, please email DPSSRecruitment@norfolk.gov.uk quoting job reference: DPSS291/NorCare to request an application form.