< Back to Listings

Personal Care Assistant

Attleborough

Breckland

Between £10.01-12.00 Per Hour

Part Time

PA Register

Closing Date: 06/06/22

Hi, my name’s Gemma and I’m looking for a Personal Assistant to join my small team. I am 37 years old and have a physical disability (Spinal Muscular Atrophy) which means I use an electric wheelchair at all times. 
I live in Attleborough, Norfolk.
Hours:
  • Friday waking night, 10.30pm-9.30am.
  • Alternate Monday and Tuesday evenings, 6.30pm-10.30pm.
  • Thursday daytime, 9am-5pm.
  • Hours to be discussed.
Pay:
  • £10-£11 per hour.
  • Overtime paid at a higher rate of £12-£13 per hour.
Work Involved
You will be required to assist me with everything I do and need, such as
  • Personal care.
  • Helping me to get up and dressed, get into bed.
  • Make drinks and food (mostly light snacks).
  • Accompanying me when I go out for leisure and appointments.
  • Light housework.
  • Drive my wheelchair accessible vehicle.
  • Assist me with craft projects and activities.
A full driving licence and over 25 years of age is required for you to drive my vehicle.
Daytimes and evenings will be spent either at my family home or out and about.
I completed an MA in Textile Culture, and have an interest in the arts. I like to visit exhibitions and galleries, as well as make art/crafts myself.
I enjoy trips to the cinema, coffee with friends, shopping, theatre, music concerts, festivals and comedians. If you accompany me on these outings you will not be expected to pay for your ticket. This cost will be covered.
I also like to spend time at home watching TV, crafting, or reading.
Nights will be spent at my family home. You will be awake and on call for when I need assistance. You will need to assist me in getting to bed at night and up in the mornings. You will have my lounge to yourself, with TV and Wi-Fi, where you can occupy yourself.

Previous experience not essential. Personality, motivation and a willingness to learn is more important.

Full training will be given, and a DBS check completed (costs will be covered). If I offer you the job, references will be required.

Employees are paid 4 weekly, entitled to 5.6 weeks holiday per year, and a pension scheme is available.
The applicant should be:
  • Female, due to personal nature of the job.
  • Trustworthy and reliable.
  • Living locally (within Norfolk).
  • Flexible and willing to cover extra shifts.
  • Motivated and friendly.
  • Over 25 years of age, due to the nature of the role, with a full (manual) driving license
  • Speak English to a moderate standard.
  • Happy to be around cats.
  • Able to wear a mask and other appropriate PPE when needed for infection control (provided).

 

If you are interested in applying please contact me and include a current CV, a statement telling me about yourself, and your contact details by clicking ‘Apply Now’ below.
If your application is of interest to me I will then get back to you to arrange a time and date for an informal interview.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Similar Jobs (by title)